The Scriptures Speak…But Do We Listen?

 Written by Sister2Sister contributor:  Joan Cristelli – Niagara Falls

WOW!  Trying to decide what to write about is the most challenging thing …Why? Because all scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching us what is true and to make us realize what is WRONG in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. God uses it to PREPARE and equip his people to do every good work (2 Tim. 3:16). My thoughts…every good work?? Every single area in my life??  It’s all in there, God hasn’t left anything out.

 Not one single thing

Not one single instruction

 And to think I have read every self help guru out there (don’t even count the books I’ve read on relationships)…so why is it that I find myself begging God, pleading with him to show me the way?

“PLEASE GOD, SHOW ME THE WAY!”

“WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO DO WITH MY LIFE? MY RELATIONSHIPS? MY FINANCES ?”

  HELLO! God does show me the way, step by step. It’s when I don’t like God’s answers that I find myself stumbling around looking for a different answer.

 John 5:39 – “You study the Scriptures diligently because you think that in them you have eternal life. These are the very Scriptures that testify about me!” If we don’t obey what Jesus says, have we actually come to him?”

 My relationship with Tony is most in my mind, maybe because the holidays are approaching (and you know what ladies my age dream of…it’s not sugar plums and fairies, its husbands!) When I read God’s word, my heavenly father say’s NO… well, that’s the end of that sugar plum dream! Is the way that God wants us to live, black and white?

 Revelations 3:15 “I know all the things you do, that you are neither hot nor cold. I wish you were either one or the other, but since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth.” That’s not good news

 Okay… I get it, every area of my life… alcohol! If I had read the scriptures that drunks will not inherit the kingdom of heaven, I would have sobered up quicker. Sexually immoral people don’t go to heaven… HELLO?! No grey area here. I could write a book on the things my life needed correction on (but wait, God has already done that). Reading and studying is one thing, but obeying is how we get to meet the author…..I know one thing for certain, when I live my life the way I want to, I mess it up! I may not have things today that the world offers, things that Satan dresses up so seductively, but I have peace – peace in God’s love and that in the end, if I stay on the right path, I will be with Him. I can’t even imagine being in the presence of God! What will I say? What will He say to me? Hopefully He’ll say, “Well done, good and faithful servant!” My life was a mess and God has cleansed me from my sins. He has given me his Spirit to guide me and I feel his peace and I see his love in YOU! The church has helped me heal and continues to help me grow throughout this journey. I pray for us all to encourage, love and above all to share the truth……till we get there!

 Your sister, Joan

About sister2sisterblogger

Striving as daughters of the King, and sisters of faith, to encourage one another to walk with the Lord
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Scriptures Speak…But Do We Listen?

  1. ann adams says:

    Good job Joan. Your truth and honesty shows that your faith is growing. Keep on studying to show yourself approved.

  2. Carrie says:

    LOVE! ❤ Amen sister!

Leave a comment