Snowflakes

Written by Sister2Sister contributor:  Marni Boland

Three year old, blue eyed blondie looked up to meet my gaze.  “What are you going to do?” She asked in wonder.  I had taken a piece of white paper and thought that she would enjoy learning how to make snowflakes.  I folded the paper, ever so carefully, and with a pair of scissors, began cutting away the parts that weren’t, well, snowflake.  Her careful scrutiny told me that she wasn’t overly confident in my ability to create anything from a piece of paper and scissors.  All she could see was a folded piece of paper with some holes and squiggles cut from it.  I handed her the tattered mess and she looked at me, uncertain. “I thought you were going to make me a snowflake”. 

“Open it up” I prodded.  With tentative fingers she unfolded once and an astonished gasp escaped her lips!  “Keep going,” I said, “it’s not done yet!”  She unfolded it yet again, this time a gleeful, “Ooooooo!”  “Keep going!”  I told her again, excitement mounting.  Finally she opened it completely and there in her hands in all its glory was a perfect white snowflake with little hearts and squiggles, all airy and wispy.

“Oh, Mommy!  It’s beautiful!” she cried in absolute amazement and awe.  She rejoiced and giggled and wide eyed, wrapped her arms around me.  “Thank you Mommy!  Thank you!  It’s the most beautiful snowflake ever!” 

 I was taken back with her genuine wonder and amazement at this simple craft.  How many times in my life have I whipped up snowflakes for classroom decorations?  What made me stop in wonder was not just her unabashed awe in my creation, but my own feelings that in my daughter’s eyes, at this moment, I was absolutely amazing, awe-inspiring…almost God-like.  Now, I know better than to put myself up there with the Lord of Hosts, but something hit me that night.  God, in His daily wooing of his children, creates masterpieces so much more breathtaking than a folded piece of white paper cut with kitchen scissors.  Color, texture, light and shadow…Every day He offers us His beauty, and how do we respond?  With wide eyed wonder, and joyful giggling of amazement and gratitude?  Or do we hustle and bustle through our day, with our ‘to-do lists’ and miss over and over again His beauty that was created as a love offering.  A gift given in love, waiting for our, “Oh Daddy!  It’s beautiful! Thank you!”

 

Psalm 19:1-6

The heavens declare the glory of God;
    the skies proclaim the work of his hands.
 Day after day they pour forth speech;
    night after night they reveal knowledge.
 They have no speech, they use no words;
    no sound is heard from them.
 Yet their voice goes out into all the earth,
    their words to the ends of the world.
In the heavens God has pitched a tent for the sun.
     It is like a bridegroom coming out of his chamber,
    like a champion rejoicing to run his course.
 It rises at one end of the heavens
    and makes its circuit to the other;
    nothing is deprived of its warmth.

Psalm 148: 1-10

 Praise the Lord.

Praise the Lord from the heavens;
    praise him in the heights above.
 Praise him, all his angels;
    praise him, all his heavenly hosts.
 Praise him, sun and moon;
    praise him, all you shining stars.
 Praise him, you highest heavens
    and you waters above the skies.

 Let them praise the name of the Lord,
    for at his command they were created,
 and he established them forever and ever—
    he issued a decree that will never pass away.

 Praise the Lord from the earth,
    you great sea creatures and all ocean depths,
 lightning and hail, snow and clouds,
    stormy winds that do his bidding,
 you mountains and all hills,
    fruit trees and all cedars,
 wild animals and all cattle,
    small creatures and flying birds,

About sister2sisterblogger

Striving as daughters of the King, and sisters of faith, to encourage one another to walk with the Lord
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Snowflakes

  1. Diane says:

    Beautiful!

  2. Valerie says:

    Nice!! That we may see as if for the first time with the eyes of a child.

  3. ANN says:

    Good morning,

    Thank you Marni for another great job on “Snowflakes”.  I really appreciate the fact that we need to try to see things through the eyes of children more.  Re-establish our innocence as it where.  We need to be more awed by the greatness of God and all that he has created.  I sometimes goes back to Genesis and re-read creation.  Unbelievable!

    Have a great day.

    Ann

  4. joan cristelli says:

    hes still working on the cutting phase on me ..sometimes it hurts …but im trusting in my lord.

  5. Carrie says:

    Love this 🙂

Leave a comment